A God of your own understanding

I’m not at home this week and so I’m making short, pithy posts. No running on and on as I tend to do. Just things that caught my imagination and made me think.

Today’comes from a woman on public radio. I was on my way from one place to another and she’s not someone whose name I remember, but someone city-bred, the daughter of a gangster, she had lived most of her life among people busily and professionally breaking the law. Sounded tough.
I was startled when she talked suddenly about God. “A God of your own understanding,” she said.  Of course, I thought,  it must always be a God of your own understanding. But what a perfectly wonderful way to express it.

And what will that God feel like and look like? Sound like?

 

or

 

 

or

 

 

Now, it’s your turn….

3 thoughts on “A God of your own understanding

  1. I’d go with music, in all its complexity and resonance with everything alive. Maybe
    God is an organist or flute player.
    Happy Thanksgiving ,wherever you are. I’m in California.

  2. I’ve come to the conclusion that we are living inside God, so everything that “exists” for us is part of God, including ourselves. God is all around us because, to God, we are like the things that live inside us, for which we are probably “God”. We are made of the same stuff as God but have bodies adapted to life on Earth, which is a cell in God’s body. For us, there is only one god because, living inside God, we can only know one. We contribute to God’s survival, and we only exist because God does.

    I now expect to be blown out of existence by your indignant readers, but you did ask!

Leave a Reply

