When I get old enough…..

I am now 73 and still working hard at writing, still learning, still trying to form prose that says something and says it well. What gives me courage are other old artists. Take, for example, Louise Bourgeois who declared, “”I am a long-distance runner. It takes me years and years and years to produce what I do.”

Bourgeois made her greatest work after the age of 80. When she was 84, and an interviewer asked whether she could have made one of her recent works earlier in her career, she replied, “Absolutely not.” When he asked why, she explained, “I was not sophisticated enough.”

3 thoughts on “When I get old enough…..

  1. kudos to Paula…I agree with her wholeheartedly! Stop talking about 73 as if it were an old age delimma!!!! I’ve been there two weeks less than you have and I still feel like the Irish Jig is a fantastic event! Good to have you back honey, keep moving on!

  2. You don’t tell your name – I just read your blog about May Wilson – I too used to visit her regularly in 1967-68, bringing her dolls and other found objects. I loved her and wrote probably my best poem of those years, about her and her dolls. I connected yesterday with a youngish art MFA man from Minneapolis who now lives in Paris and we were discussing friends of his who showed collages and was a friend of Ray Johnson, and I said, I had met him, he was a friend of May Wilson, and this guy knew all about her. That set me searching the web for articles on May. Who are you and what do you do now?
    Jacqueline Pruskin, London

Leave a Reply

